Procrastination

I’m watching

As this life is brought to a boil.

 

Relief found in pockets of

My back against a wall,

For the five minutes I allow myself:

Staring off,

Playing with eye floaters

Against the back drop of

A pale blue sky,

Like a glitter globe;

Watching it turn into a glare

In a matter of hours,

Slowly revealing an image of me.

Ear buds blasting a vague semblance of

“Here with me” (the White Noise alt. version),

Reluctant to open books for

What I’ve been waiting my whole life to study

And reluctant to quit now

Because I hadn’t done enough.

 

I just want to play the drums

Or maybe find the time to learn guitar:

Something that I can do in my apartment,

You know?

 

“Don’t think about…”

I’ll take five more –

Of staring off.

Just until this song ends.

Leave a Reply

